North-South Classic: Notable names have guided the two teams since 1976

An array of coaching greats have guided the two teams since 1976.

WCHS-TV/FOX 11 North-South All-Star Football Classic Head Coaches

Each year, not only does the WCHS-TV/FOX 11 North-South All-Star Football Classic feature outstanding players but also excellent coaches.

Below is a list of the gentlemen who have served as the head coaches for the Bears and Cardinals, respectively, since the bicentennial year of 1976 when North-South football showdowns returned to the Mountain State.

North Bears

1976-Wayne Jamison, Bridgeport

1977-Buddy James, Parkersburg

1978-Kenny Wright, Pennsboro

1979-Granville Zopp, Buckhannon-Upshur

1980-Roy Michael, North Marion

1981-Bob Kaminsky, Martinsburg

1982-Dave Cisar, Magnolia

1983-Mike Hayden, Parkersburg South

1984-Vin Bonfilli, Morgantown

1985-Mike Skinner, Grafton

1986-Bud Billiard, Brooke

1987-Gary McCutcheon, East Fairmont

1988-Denny Price, Musselman

1989-Gary Barnette, South Harrison

1990-Frank Marino, Ripley

1991-Steve Safford, Point Pleasant

1992-Jim Hamric, Spencer

1993-Mike Linsky, John Marshall

1994-Mike Lucas, Wirt County

1995-Ron White, Wheeling Park

1996-Marshall Burdette, Parkersburg

1997-Glen McNew, Morgantown

1998-Gerry White, North Marion

1999-John Kelly, University

2000-Alan Fiddler, Moorefield

2001-Danny Tennant, Parkersburg Catholic

2002-Dave Walker, Martinsburg

2003-Bruce Carey, Bridgeport

2004-John Stender, Tyler Consolidated

2005-Mick Lantz, Frankfort

2006-Mike Skinner, Grafton

2007-Bernie Buttrey, Parkersburg

2008-Jim Rogers, Cameron

2009-Jimmy Frashier, Ripley

2010-Mark Nardone, Wheeling Park

2011-Dick Sturm, Ravenswood

2012-Tony Filberto, Oak Glen

2013-Jodi Mote, St. Marys

2014- Bill Haddox, East Fairmont

2015-Mike Young, Wheeling Central

2016-Ryan Wilson, Clay-Battelle

2017-Chris Daugherty, Wheeling Park

2018-Brad Jett, South Harrison

South Cardinals

1976-John Chmara, Bluefield

1977-Carl Ward, Ceredo-Kenova

1978-Steve Edwards, Sr., George Washington

1979-Frank Vincent, Charleston

1980-Leon McCoy, Winfield

1981-Claude Miller, Huntington

1982-Bob Zopp, Greenbrier East

1983-Tootie Carter, Man

1984-Jim Thornburg, Barboursville

1985-John Chmara, Bluefield

1986-Homer Criddle, Greenbrier East

1987-Mickey Brown, Chapmanville

1988-Fred Taylor, Ravenswood

1989-Roger Jefferson, Capital

1990-Joe Cowley, Herbert Hoover

1991-Ralph Hensley, East Bank

1992-Blaine Wilkerson, Duval

1993-Ron Sirk, Clay County

1994-Larry McClintic, Meadow Bridge

1995-Dick Whitman, DuPont

1996-Ron Terry, Buffalo Wayne

1997-Jim Martin, Oak Hill

1998-Bill Dobbins, Nicholas County

1999-Robert Burdette, Nitro

2000-Don Jackson, James Monroe

2001-Frank Spangler, Fayetteville

2002-Bob Lemley, Poca

2003-Fred Simon, Bluefield

2004-Steve Edwards, Jr., George Washington

2005-Tommy Harmon, Wayne

2006-Chip McMillian, Cabell Midland

2007-Bob Mullett, Van

2008-Steve Stoffel, Sr., Herbert Hoover

2009-Benny Hopkins, Valley

2010-John H. Lilly, Beckley Woodrow Wilson

2011-Eddie Souk, Mt. Hope

2012-George Barker, Chapmanville

2013-Joe Dean, Midland Trail

2014-Lewis McClung, Greenbrier East

2015-Luke Salmons, Cabell Midland

2016-Harvey Arms, Man

2017-Yogi Kinder, Mingo Central

2018-John Mustain, James Monroe

close video ad
Unmutetoggle ad audio on off