School boards announcing school closures due to strike

    School boards are announcing closures after Union officials announced a Teacher's strike, Monday. (WCHS/WVAH)<p>{/p}

    School boards are announcing closures or making decisions on closures after leaders representing school employees in West Virginia announced a statewide strike Monday.

    Kanawha, Cabell, Logan, Mason, Boone, Clay, Gilmer, Summers, Ritchie, Calhoun, Brooke, Grant, Morgan, Hampshire, Berkley, Jefferson, Ohio, Preston, Roane, Pendleton, Doddridge, Wayne, Mercer, Pocahontas, Hancock, Wood, Tyler, Jackson, Braxton, Marion, Raleigh, Fayette, Webster, Pleasants, Wyoming, Greenbrier, Wetzel, Taylor, Harrison, Upshur, Wirt, Hardey, Nicholas, Barbour, Tucker, Marshall, Jefferson, Randolph, Lewis, Mingo, Monroe, Mineral and Monongalia counties are all closed on Tuesday.

    Putnam County announced that schools will remain open despite the strike.

    According to an email from a Putnam County Schools spokesperson:

    Putnam County Schools will be open Tuesday, Feb. 19, 2019. It is important that our students continue to have the opportunity to learn in a safe and secure environment. Each day our schools provide much for the students we serve such as a safe and caring environment, meals, and the opportunity to participate in various extra-curricular activities.

    News In Photos

      Loading ...